New Pro Feature: Private, Login-based Sharing

Greetings WorkFlowyans,

We have a special new feature for WorkFlowy Pro users: private, login-based sharing!

We’ve supported sharing via a link for quite a while now. This type of sharing is super fast and easy to use, and it’s great for situations where you’re sharing publicly or with an indeterminate group of people. (Just paste the link into a group email, or Facebook, or whatever, and send it off.)

But link-based sharing isn’t the best approach when you want to share privately with specific people. In this case, you want to grant access to only these people and to know that only they can access the list. You also may want to allow some of those people to edit the list, while allowing others only to view it.

That’s where the new private, login-based sharing feature comes in. This is how you use it.

First, hover over the bullet for the list you want to share and click the “Share” control in the menu that pops up (as normal).

Then click the “Privately to specific email addresses” share option in the dialog that pops up. Enter one or more email addresses in the box that shows up and select whether you’d like to allow them to edit the list or just view it. (You’ll be able to add and remove email addresses later and also change the View/Edit permission for each email.)

Click “Share”, and you’ll be taken to the status dialog, which shows who you’re sharing with and with what type of permission.

It also shows whether each email you’ve shared with is “active” or “inactive.” If an email is active, that means the private sharing invitation has been accepted. (We send a unique invitation link to each email address you share with. This link is only valid for one user.)

That’s all there is to it. You can change the sharing permissions for an email address (or remove it entirely) at any time. 

Also remember that your collaborators can add your list to their own account, which means they’ll see it every time they log in and (if they want) receive email updates when it changes. You can read more about this here.

(As an aside, if you’re interested in upgrading to WorkFlowy Pro, take a look at the Settings dialog in WorkFlowy. You get there by clicking on the down arrow in the top right and then on “Settings”.)

2 thoughts on “New Pro Feature: Private, Login-based Sharing”

  1. How do I get the pro version. Doesn’t show up in App store. App doesnt give ability for upgrade or support? Developer sight gives no contact or support information and only takes me back to standard version. Is there a way to print? Is there a way to e-mail? Is there a desktop version? How does sync work between iPad and iPhone; is it seamless or is setup necessary?…if so where/how? Thankyou.

    1. Our support email is help@workflowy.com. Please email your questions there in the future.

      The syncing between iphone/ipad/computer works seamlessly without any setup. On the computer, you just use it in your browser. You can print from your computer browser (or phone browser) just like any other site.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s